These Are a Few Of My Favorite Things

What could be more Monday than some Julie Andrews?

Okay, maybe a lot of things.

Anyway, Mondays are usually a day people consider icky, so I’m brightening mine (and hopefully yours!) by sharing with you some of my favorite things right now.

The song “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor

This song has quickly swept the web in the last few weeks, with the music video gaining over 14 million views on YouTube. I love the catchy doo-wop melody, but I especially love the lyrics. The song is about self-love, directed at women who don’t fit the mold of celebrity thinness. It’s one of the only songs I can think of put out in recent years that sends a positive message to women of all sizes, while being outrageously catchy and not self-pitying.

The Skimm

I’m not a news reader. I’m going to be honest. Brandon is going to be ashamed that this is even on the internet, but my idea of reading the newspaper is skimming through the Ask Annie column, the horoscopes, and then the births to find out what ridiculous names people are giving kids these days. I often get confused with political jargon and abbreviations, and just give up on the world news.

This is why I’m such a fan of The Skimm. The Skimm is a daily email subscription service that “skims” the news of the day and serves it up in an easy-to-read format, with full explanations of everything and a good bit of sass. It’s the only way I even understand what is happening in the Middle East right now, and since it comes to my inbox, it has made reading the news a part of my daily routine. I highly suggest you subscribe.

Perversion Mascara and Subversion Lash Primer by Urban Decay

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara

Yes, the title is scandalous. It’s not near as bad as Better Than Sex Mascara by Too Faced, but still. Name aside, it’s one of my favorite new beauty products. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about using a lash primer, because it just looks like weird goopy white mascara, but it’s magical in giving my lashes tons more length. The mascara is also awesome. If you’re looking for a new mascara and are willing to splurge, I’d recommend.

This guest post (of mine) on The Half and Half Blog

Yes, I’m shamelessly self-promoting. Sue me. Or don’t, because I can’t really afford a lawyer right now and Brandon hasn’t taken the bar exam. Anyway, I wrote this post about 50 thoughts I have while watching House Hunters, and if you’ve seen the show, or enjoy sass (of course you enjoy sass, or you wouldn’t be reading this blog), then you should check it out. Also, Meg’s blog is one of my favorites and in a lot of ways an inspiration for my own, so you should read the rest of her stuff. It’s awesome.

Voting

On the campaign trail for Murray #political #paradetime

A post shared by Taylor Rosty (@acupoftay) on

Like vote-for-governor voting? Yes. I’m going to get a little PSA here on you, but if you haven’t voted and are of age, you should! I probably wouldn’t have unless my political boyfriend/the future President dragged me to the courthouse to register absentee, but it’s a great opportunity to make a difference in your community. It’s your civic duty! Also, you get to fill in bubbles with a pen, which is weirdly satisfying. (I didn’t get a photo of me voting – what a shame! So this is Brandon and I campaigning for a secretary of state candidate. It’s like the same thing.)

This Youtube video of this little girl jamming to “Dark Horse”

If you haven’t seen this video, you don’t know what is good in life. This little girl is having a meltdown in the car, until her mom puts on Katy Perry’s “Dark Horse” and she literally loses it. I’m a fan of her dance moves, and that little “OH” face she makes is precious. My sister says this is the face I also make when I’m excited, but that’s yet to be confirmed.

My un-niece and nephew

I mentioned this earlier on the blog, but Brandon’s sister-in-law just had twins, so I’m claiming them unofficially as my niece and nephew. This is a picture of me holding the girl, Evi. This was right after I told her, “If you don’t learn to love food more, we can’t be friends.” I should probably work on my aunt skills before I’m an actual aunt. Oops.

What are your favorite things this week?

Xoxo, Taylor

6 thoughts on “These Are a Few Of My Favorite Things

  1. Oh my gosh that I thought the first video was Kelly Osbourne for a second!
    And I’ve heard a lot about The Skimm recently, and all positive so I’m really beginning to wonder if I should also sign up for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

