Guest Post: Want to Start A Blog This Summer?

As a blogger, I know I’m always looking for tips and tricks to get better at what I do. If you’re considering starting a blog, I think you’ll find these tips from Amanda at College is Love super helpful! (PS – I know you are loving these fabulous guest posters, but I swear I’ll be back to writing soon!)

Starting a blog can be a great way to have summer plans and maybe even make some extra cash on the side if you are dedicated enough to it. My name is Amanda and I am the blogger behind College is Love and I want to share with y’all some tips to start your blogs this summer. If you have been thinking about taking a dive into blogging, this is definitely the guest blog for you!

Want to start a blog this summer?

1. Find Your Niche: This needs to be a niche that you can see yourself writing from a lot. Blogging takes a lot of time and many bloggers may blog 3-5 times a week because in blogging consistency is important. If your niche is too narrow it may be difficult to obtain an audience and keep them engaged with original content.

It’s perfectly okay to switch your niche later too! My blog was based mainly on college advice and hosted on Tumblr until earlier this year when I made the crazy decision to leave about half of my blogs behind and switch to Blogger. It was a crazy process and I am still in awe that I even did it. Now I am a blog that focuses mainly on lifestyle posts and I write about a variety of topics from my perspective.

2. Note the Commitment: Blogging is not as easy as it looks. It’s an art form that demands time, money, and energy. Being a blogger takes extreme patience and a lot of luck as well as blood, sweat, and tears—or at least cash and time. It’s crazy how much these commitments add up, but if you are serious about being a blogger you will grow to love this lifestyle.

As a blogger you don’t just curate posts and put them up for the world to see—you also communicate with other bloggers, advertise, push your blog to other companies, and a wide array of other things. This is not just a personal journal, and it can take a lot of time to get the blog the way you want it to be.

3. Join a Community: Blogging is a social activity. The worst thing a new blogger can do is shut themselves off from the social aspects of blogging. There are many blogger networks (Her Campus Blogger Network) and even weekly twitter chats (#BlogTrends) you can join to get to know fellow bloggers. Being a part of a community is a great thing to do so you can make blogging friends, have conversations your normal friends might not understand, and maybe just have a person who likes to comment on your posts. The blogging community is strong and it makes blogging easier to handle.

4. It’s Not a Numbers Game: Blogging is not always all about the quantity of readers that you have. For the most part it’s about the quality of the posts you produce. If a company can see that your posts are amazingly well written and work with their company they will work with your brand. You don’t always have to focus on the numbers. It’s not always the numbers you have, but what you can do with those numbers. If you have 30 well engaged readers over 10,000 non-engaged readers—what would you chose? Focus on building those relationships with your readers and the numbers will come.

5. Relax and Have Fun: Overall blogging, even if you treat it as a business, should be fun to you. If you are not feeling the blogging scene there may be other ways to have fun and earn extra cash. Blogging is not for everyone and its okay if you feel that way. I went through plenty of blogs before I settled on the one I have and stuck with it. It may not be for you now, but maybe down the road you can revisit blogging.

I hope that this blog has helped anyone who is considering blogging as a career. I have a whole series of information for bloggers titled “Blogging Information Week” where I talked on a variety of topics that may interest new bloggers.

 If you want to hear more from the lovely Amanda, find her on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and Instagram!

If you’re a blogger, what’s the most helpful tip you’ve ever received? If you’re not a blogger, have you ever considered blogging? What would you blog about if you had a blog?

Xoxo, Taylor

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Want to Start A Blog This Summer?

  1. Perfect post for those of us who are new to blogging, thank you!!
    The best blogging tip I have ever received is to blog about something you’re passionate about. I’m not sure I’ve quite found my way there yet, but hopefully I’m on my way!
    Thanks for the fabulous post!!

    Brittany
    Fabulously Unprepared

    Like

  2. I always tell bloggers starting out that they need to remember to blog for themselves and to not compare themselves to other people on the internet. Haha. It can be so hard sometimes when you’re looking for inspiration, but it’s too stressful to compare yourself to others.

    Sarah
    aroseinthecity0.blogspot.com

    Like

    • I completely agree! What makes blogging unique is your voice. If you lose that in an effort to gain a following, you’ve lost what blogging is really about.

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

