Guest Post: Chocolate Chip Pizookie

Guess who’s back, back again
Sydney’s back, tell a friend
Guess who’s back,
Guess who’s back,
Guess who’s back…

Ok, that was kinda cheesy, but I couldn’t resist! In case you don’t know, I’m Sydney (of Sydney Luella fame) and if you haven’t read my first guest post for this week please go do so now! Go directly there, do not pass go, do not collect $200. It’s all about summer fashion, so if you don’t read it you won’t be fashionable. I kid of course! But seriously, you should check it out.

This time around, I’m doing something a little different! One of my favorite restaurants in my college town is a place called BJ’s (yeah, I know) and their big claim to fame is a dessert called ‘Pizookies’. Basically they’re giant cookie cakes that are baked in pizza pans (pizza + cookie = pizookie). It comes out ooey, gooey and topped with vanilla ice cream so it’s basically the greatest thing ever. I may or may not have broken out into tears of happiness the last time one was placed in front of me. They have everything from red velvet to carrot cake but my absolute favorite is the classic chocolate chip. I like the basics, what can I say?

So now that I’m home for the summer, I’m having serious cravings. Since I can’t really justify a 4-hour drive for one (it’s a really close call though) I decided to take matters into my own hands and made one for myself! It’s surprisingly easy, considering it’s just a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe thrown into a pizza pan and baked. So get your ovens ready people, this is a must try!

Pizookie cookie

Here’s what you’ll need: 

2 Cups Shortening

1 Cup White Sugar

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

3 Eggs

3 1/2 Cup Flour

2 Teaspoon Baking Soda

2 Teaspoon Salt

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

2 Cups (1 bag) Chocolate Chips

1/2 Cup Nuts (optional)

Once you have the ingredients, preheat the oven to 375 degrees (Fahrenheit). Next, mix your wet ingredients (butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla) and dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt) separately. Then slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet. Or you could just dump everything into a mixing bowl all at once. If I’m being honest, that’s usually what I do.

You’ll also need some type of deep-dish pans or pizza pans. Mine are heart shaped (#adorable) but you can use any pan you like! Also, you can just make regular old cookies with this recipe and they will be just as delish! Be sure and grease your pan, bake for about 15 minutes (8-10 minutes if you make normal sized cookies!) and then it’s pretty much mandatory that you serve it with ice cream. You don’t have to, I suppose, but you’re seriously missing out if you don’t!

So that’s about it! I highly recommend giving these a try for a yummy summer dessert! Also, if you have any recommendations to spruce this up a bit (hot fudge sauce, perhaps?!) please leave them in the comments! I’m always looking for super delicious desserts!

Hope you all are having a fabulous Friday!

xo Sydney

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Chocolate Chip Pizookie

Leave a Reply

