Whoa, We’re Halfway There: A Mid-College Reflection

Hey everyone! If you were wondering where I was yesterday, I just took a day off. Sometimes no matter how hard you try, a post doesn’t come together. I wasn’t feeling it and I’m not one for publishing sub-par stuff. So I’m back today, and with only three days of class left in my sophomore year, I think it’s a good time to do some reflecting on college now that I’m at the halfway point.

Academically, I’m happy with where I’m at. I’ve learned that B stands for “blessing” and that an A sometimes just isn’t worth locking yourself in a library for a week. I’ve learned how to manage my time effectively and stay on top of all of my coursework, and come out of my two years with a pretty solid GPA (assuming finals go well). I’ve gotten the chance to take random classes outside my major just for fun, and had some fantastic professors.

Socially, I have been unbelievably lucky. Last night’s karaoke outing with some friends was a reminder of how many amazing friends I’ve made in my time at Penn. It is crazy how I’ve known these people for little time and yet I feel like I’ve known them my whole life. In even a year, I probably won’t remember the time that I spent two extra hours studying and got an A instead of an A-, but what I will remember are the hours I’ve taken to drink tea and paint nails with my girlfriends, the impromptu dance parties in my apartment, and the other times I have taken out to spend with people that mean the most to me.

Mentally/emotionally, this has been the best of times, and the worst of times. (I had to. I just had to.) This year started on a rough note but I’ve learned so much about myself and I’m in a much happier place. (I’ve talked about it like a bazillion times here so if you’re curious, read this, this or this.) I am happy and thoroughly convinced that I chose the right school and the right path in life.

Part of said happiness has of course been this blog. I’ve loved getting to know some of you, and sharing pieces of my life through my writing. I’ve gotten positive feedback, which has been exciting. I have found a way to express myself creatively, something that my coursework doesn’t really provide.

These two years of college have been great, but I feel like there’s still so much to do. I think a before-I-graduate bucket list is in order (warning: most items will probably be restaurants to try). Maybe I’ll write that when I have some time and share it, too.

How are you doing in these three areas? (If you’re not in school, substitute career for academics.)

Xoxo, Taylor

2 thoughts on “Whoa, We’re Halfway There: A Mid-College Reflection

  1. An excellent post. One thing that you seem to have realized is that even though it is important to get good grades in college, I think that in general, college GPA means less to employers than your experience. In some sense, I feel that I squandered a lot of possible social interactions in college by being very sheltered in terms of my activities.

    For some people, they say that college can be a you-pick-two of sleep, grades, and fun. I mostly chose sleep and grades, but would have willingly sacrificed a little bit on the grades (or at least the studying, particularly when I was not always very efficient) in order to bolster my social experience.

    I feel that all three of those areas (academic/career, social, and mental) are all intertwined.

    Like

    • Thank you! I agree. I think that the three areas are all really important, and I think you can actually “pick three” and turn out fine. I don’t have a 4.0 or always get a full eight hours of sleep but it’s worth it to have parity on the three and enjoy my college experience. It’s hard to balance though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

